Thailand has banned the entry of all travellers from South Africa, Botswana, Eswatini, Lesotho, Malawi, Mozambique, Namibia and Zimbabwe from December 1 for an unspecified period.

“It is with great regret that we announce our decision to impose this ban,” says Chiravadee Khunsub, Director of the Tourism Authority of Thailand, adding that the situation will remain thus until there is more clarity on the risks and transmission of the COVID-19 variant.

A press release from TAT says the Thai authorities will continue to monitor the situation closely and review the mandate as soon as more information on the new variant is made available.